69th Annual Golden Globe Nominations – My Impressions

This morning the Golden Globe nominations came out leaving movie fans with a better idea of what we might see Oscar night. There of course were a few snubs and surprises.

In the Best Picture Drama category we have The Descendants, The Help, Hugo, The Ides of March, Moneyball, and War Horse. I have seen all but the last two. Hugo is the best movie nominated out of the ones that I have seen, but I have a feeling that The Descendants will walk away with this one. I must admit my disappointment in not seeing Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy or The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo nominated. I haven’t seen either of them yet but they look so great and have had great critical responses. I was also hoping to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 in there but I knew it was a longshot anyway.

In the Best Actor Drama category George Clooney is nominated for The Descendants, Brad Pitt for Moneyball, Ryan Gosling for The Ides of March, Michael Fassbender for Shame, and Leonardo DiCaprio for J. Edgar. Gosling is a bit of a surprise but otherwise this category is exactly how I expected it to be.

"If I don't win I'll set you on fire."

For Best Actress Drama we have Glenn Close for Albert Nobbs, Viola Davis for The Help, Rooney Mara for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Meryl Streep for The Iron Lady, and Tilda Swinton for We Need to Talk About Kevin. Viola Davis was absolutely amazing in The Help but I am so excited to see how Mara handles Lisbeth Salander. If she is as fantastic as the critics are saying she will be my pick to win.

Best Picture Comedy or Musical has a great list of nominees this year. 50/50, The Artist, Bridesmaids, Midnight in Paris, and My Week With Marilyn all deserve recognition, although the last is hardly either a comedy or a musical. My vote here is for The Artist but I wouldn’t be too disappointed if Midnight in Paris squeezed out a win.

For Best Actor Comedy or Musical we have Jean Dujardin for The Artist, Brenden Gleeson for The Guard, Joseph Gordon-Levitt for 50/50, Ryan Gosling for Crazy, Stupid, Love, and Owen Wilson for Midnight in Paris. I have never even heard of The Guard, but otherwise all the other performances here are pretty great. My bet is for Dujardin though, he was fantastic.

On the women’s side we have Jodie Foster and Kate Winslet for Carnage, Charlize Theron for Young Adult, Kristen Wiig for Bridesmaids, and Michelle Williams for My Week With Marilyn. Williams deserves this one hands down. Her transformation into Marilyn Monroe was incredible.

Scorsese's cameo in "Hugo".

Directing wise we have Woody Allen for Midnight in Paris, George Clooney for The Ides of March, Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist, Alexander Payne for The Descendants, and Martin Scorsese for Hugo. As much as I loved The Artist I’m pulling for Scorsese for this one. Hugo was such a different movie from everything else he has done and he pulled it off beautifully.

For Best Supporting Actor there is Kenneth Branagh for My Week With Marilyn, Albert Brooks for Drive, Jonah Hill for Moneyball, Viggo Mortensen for A Dangerous Method, and Christopher Plummer for Beginners. No surprises here.

Best Supporting Actress is another list of great performances. Berenice Bejo for The Artist, Jessica Chastain and Octavia Spencer for The Help, Janet McTeer for Albert Nobbs, and Shailene Woodley for The Descendants. This one is tough. Bejo, Spencer, and Woodley all deserve a win. If I had to pick I would probably go with Woodley as she played off Clooney better than he did off her.

Best Screenplay sees Midnight in Paris, The Ides of March, The Artist, The Descendants, and Moneyball getting nominations. The Artist is an interesting one here because it has no dialogue, however it is still written very cleverly. It isn’t my pick but I like seeing a different style of writing getting recognized. I would have to go with Midnight in Paris here with all of its wit that only Woody Allen could deliver.

Not Pixar.

For Best Animated Feature we have The Adventures of Tintin, Arthur Christmas, Cars 2, Puss in Boots, and Rango. I plan to see Tintin when it hits theaters next week but for now I still think Rango is one of the best movies of the year.

Best Original Score has no surprises this year. The Artist, W.E., The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Hugo, and War Horse all had great people working on their scores. The Artist relies on its score more heavily than anything else here, however Trent Reznor has done amazing work for Dragon Tattoo and I am so excited to see how it works with the film. Then of course John Williams is in there for War Horse.

All the other categories I do not know enough about to comment on. I haven’t seen any of the foreign films but I plan to see The Flowers of War as soon as possible. Television wise I have barely seen any of the shows nominated. The Golden Globes air January 15th, with Ricky Gervais returning as host! Should be an interesting night.

 

photo credit: http://www.inquisitr.com/95688/68th-annual-golden-globes-2011-results/

http://www.mtv.com/photos/the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-five-key-scenes-from-the-trailer/1671203/6563368/photo.jhtml

http://www.kpbs.org/news/2011/dec/13/entertainment-news-bfca-announces-nominations/

http://www.wildsound.ca/rango.html

~ by mattsmoviethoughts on December 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
